Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George


Title: Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

Author: Jessica Day George

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s Books

Release Date: January 8, 2008

ISBN: 978-1599901091

Size: Hardback; 336 pages

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Blessed—or cursed—with an ability to understand animals, the Lass has always felt estranged from her family, who struggle to make a living in the windswept north. So when an isbjorn (polar bear) seeks her out and promises that her family will be provided for if she accompanies him to his castle, she doesn’t hesitate. But the great white bear is not what he seems, nor is his castle. Slowly the Lass unravels the mystery of the bear’s enchantment and the spell connecting him with the strange symbols carved in the castle’s icy walls. But on a journey to a place where the four winds fear to travel, the true horror of the bear’s spell is revealed, and the Lass’s courage—and love—will be tested.

Based on the Nordic legend East of the Sun, West of the Moon, this richly reimagined tale is perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Donna Jo Napoli.

Author: LDS Publisher

I am an anonymous blogger who works in the LDS publishing industry. I blog about topics that help authors seeking publication and about published fiction by LDS authors.

5 thoughts on “Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George”

  1. I loved this book. It has wonderful characters and descriptions. I’m also enjoying reading her first book, Dragon Slippers.

  2. This book is much better than Dragon Slippers. I’m really not into fantasy, but this one took me back to the fairy tales I loved when I was in grade school. It’s bright, fun, paced well, and the main characters are likable.

Comments are closed.